Skip to content

Social Media: It’s getting crowded in here

September 15, 2014

Has Twitter gotten too darn noisy? How many blogs can you follow? Are you about to scream if someone invites you to Like yet another Facebook page or invites you to yet another social media platform to crowdsource, save health care, share your story?

Sometimes social media in health care just seems loud and crowded. This week on #hcsmca (September 17), I’d like to take stock and reflect on how you use social media. Before we dive into the topics, let’s spend more time on introductions (T1).

To introduce yourself, complete this statement:

I’m a __________________ and I use social media (sm) to ­­­­­­­­­­­­­_____________________.

For example, you might be

  • A researcher who uses sm to inform and recruit.
  • A patient who uses sm to connect with other patients.
  • An editor who uses sm to share journal’s publications.
  • A pharmacist using sm to stay up to date.
  • A communicator managing the institution’s sm presence.

We’re rarely one-dimensional as my examples imply, so you’ll have to be creative to fit it all into 140 characters.

Then let’s dive into these topics:

  • T2: Has your use of social media for health changed over time? If so, how?
  • T3: What does social media in health enable for you?
  • T4: What frustrates you or has disenfranchised you?
  • T5: What advice would you give someone who joining the hcsm bandwagon now?

Join the conversation Wednesday, September 17 at 1pm ET (10am PT, 11am MT, noon CT, 2pm AT).

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 15, 2014 10:16 pm

    Reblogged this on KnoGimmicks.com™ and commented:
    Great post! You should chose the best platforms that suit your purpose, business and/or personality. Every social media site is not meant for you to get on and blast your message. Use different strategies to figure out what works best for you and then create a hierarchy. Follow that hierarchy based on what type of message you want to send and the importance of your message. The only way for you to get overwhelmed by social media is if you allow it to happen. Most social media marketers find themselves spread thin overtime because they feel every platform applies to them or their clients. This comes with time, understanding, needs and a SWOT Analysis of a business (or personal, professional branding).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: