Skip to content

Nurses and social media in 2014 (and beyond)

May 19, 2014

Nurses Kartini Mistry and Richard Booth both work in the field of clinical informatics and they leverage Twitter. This week they will lead #hcsmca to explore the use of social media as it relates to nursing. 

By Richard Booth (@rbooth5) and Kartini Mistry (@KartiniRN)

headshot Richard Booth

Richard Booth

head shot Kartini Mistry

Kartini Mistry

Last week, Canada celebrated its National Nursing Week. Each year from May 12th to 18th, an opportunity is generated for all of us to reflect upon the nursing profession and recognize the hard work and commitment of Canadian nurses.

In light of this, we’d like to expand upon the celebrations in this week’s #HCSMCA chat, and discuss social media as it relates to the nursing profession.

It is likely that many of you know nurses who have embraced social media and regularly use it as a tool to enhance and improve their practice. For instance, a quick scrub of the twittersphere resulted in over 1700 tweets using the #NursingWeek hashtag alone since May 8 (until May 16), and we collectively have noticed an increase presence of nurses on Twitter during Nursing Week 2014. However, the open and public nature of social media can sometimes make nurses and their respective professional organizations hesitant to fully utilize this form of social communication technology.

In this week’s #HCSMCA chat, we would you all to think about social media and its relationship to nurses and the nursing profession. We want to explore some of the benefits and possible barriers, as well as think of ways we can promote the use of social media for this unique clinician population.

Please join #hcsmca on Wednesday May 21st at 1pm Eastern (2pm AT, 11am MT and 10am PT) as we discuss these important topics:

  • T1: Why should (or not) nurses get involved w/ social media? What are +/- within the nursing community & to using these types of tools?
  • T2: What can be done to support/encourage the use of social media by nurses & organizations that employ them?
  • T3: What should schools of nursing teach and encourage the new generation of nursing students in regards to social media?

Here is the transcript of the chat.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2014 3:08 pm

    We are a group of volunteers and opening
    a brand new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with helpful information to work on. You’ve performed an impressive activity and our whole neighborhood can be thankful to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: