Skip to content

KT Therapy for the Social Media Phobic: #PAL12

October 3, 2012

Social media is the burgeoning frontier of knowledge translation (KT) – indeed some would say a thriving mainstay. However, despite social media’s growing popularity and relevancy, many researchers and clinicians have been reluctant to embrace it. This workshop will demystify the social web and explain how you can leverage it to disseminate your research and best practices, and aggregate knowledge.

So begins our abstract accepted by the International Congress on Palliative Care for their 2012 conference (#PAL12) October 9-12.

On Friday, October 12 at 11 am, Shelly Cory and I will examine Canadian Virtual Hospice‘s use of the social web and share our insights, stories and lessons learned. But I don’t want to limit the presentation to just our experience!

I want your expertise. Help me show the skeptics the potential of social media tools and how they can help take KT beyond publications and conferences and into a realm of exponential sharing, learning, and connecting. Here’s what I hope you’ll do:

  • Join the workshop via Twitter
  • Follow the hashtag #PAL12 on Friday, October 12 at 11 am ET (8 am PT, 5 pm in Europe, 2 am Australia)
  • Send your thoughts to the group in the room via the live Twitter demo

I’ll be asking questions like:

  • What’s your single biggest benefit of using social media for health info sharing?
  • Share your favourite social media ‘secret strategy.’
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: