Skip to content

#hcsmca Meetup Roundup

February 27, 2011

Congratulations everyone! Our first-ever pan-Canadian #hcsmca tweetup was a tremendous success. In-person meetups took place across the country from Halifax to Victoria. The biggest take-away from the event was that we should do it again! And we will.

First let’s have a pictorial look, including some initial results of the collective assignment from east to west.

Halifax started things off in the east, hosting an enthusiastic group of Twitter veterans and un-initiated alike.

Ottawa was home of the bilingual meetup. I hope we can bring more French-English conversation to #hcsmca.

With over 30 people attending the Toronto meetup, it was a challenge to follow all the conversations. But we were able to capture in 3 words or less what #hcsmca means to some of the attendees.

Despite the power outage in the neighbourhood, Edmonton‘s meetup participants kept the conversations electrified, particularly by @rajshermanMLA‘s incredible recounting of his experience with social media in the ER.

In Kelowna, @Jon_Slater and @Rogra99 brainstormed the value and values of #hcsmca, both in pictures and tweets.

…values guide actions, guide vision. So let’s start with “we value each other”, followed by we value:

  • honesty in communication
  • competence
  • compassion
  • openness
  • integrity
  • collegiality
  • humility (aka being grounded)
  • consulting with each other
  • working towards a common understanding
  • collaboration

On the west coast,  @danhooker provided this fantastic summary of the Vancouver meetup.

And finally in Victoria, all conversation went smoother with oysters.

I particularly liked Vancouver’s idea of the next tweetup taking on a pecha kucha format with several different people giving short talks and then mingling afterward.

Thank you everyone for contributing to the fabulous success of the first #hcsmca tweetup, both on- and offline. Read more about the evening’s conversations in the transcript. Be sure to post links to your summaries and photos of the event, using the comments to this blog.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. mikenstn permalink
    February 27, 2011 5:30 pm

    I am so sorry that I missed that opportunity to participate. Hopefully the date for the next event won’t coincide with a major health IT event (hint, hint, Colleen)

    I attended the annual HIMSS conference, held this year in sunny Orlando. The confernence was exciting this year, with attendance up by more than 15% over the previous few years. Though not a major message in most vendor booth’s, social media played a significant role at the conference. I attended several tweetups and got meet some of my social media “heroes”.

    Michael Martineau
    eHealthMusings.ca

    Like

    • February 27, 2011 9:25 pm

      Indeed I sincerely regret that you could not take part in person at one of the Meetup venues Mike. As one of the first and most fervent #hcsmca adoptors and supporters, I would have loved to have you there. Alas, I know you were there in spirit and that you will ensure we have another one :-)

      Take note that we appreciated your tweets from HIMSS11 and indeed were sorry that we couldn’t make the connections you were able to make in Orlando. Thanks for being an #hcsmca ambassador.

      Like

  2. February 27, 2011 9:14 pm

    For me, what was great about the meet-up is that I got to elevator explain (different from pitch. I promise) my business, and get instant reaction. And how different an in person instant reaction is than on Twitter! Being one-on-one or one-on-two /three is having a real conversation forgodsakes.

    I also had the greatest job: sign-in. Being sign-in meant I had reason to accost those of you who slipped past me ;) (you know who you are) Everyone came with such positive energy, even those who hadn’t yet felt need or reason to Twitter. It felt good to be able to share my journey – which I also started on with some hesitation. On sign-in, I also got to overhear. And what a range! Pitches, determined debates, app comparisons, venting, comparing, exploring. (I need a copy of that sign-in sheet, so I can follow all of you)

    Back to my business and #hcsmca: I AM the organization, so much of what concerns the early adopter #hcsmca-ers (policy, buy-in etc ) is not immediately relevant. Therefore, I wondered whether or not I’d relate to #hcsmca-ers at the tweet up.

    My business is targeted at adult children caring for their aging parents: http://www.ability4life.com. And that’s my elevator explain. I was not expecting the instant reactions. Everyone I spoke to related! This really surprised me, since I’d expected my demographic to be older. What I learned/realized at the tweet-up was that parents don’t have to be old to get sick and need care. (A change of my tag-line’s in order: ‘caring for parents’ditch the aging) _

    This revelation and stories around it (Grandmothers use facebook to stay connected to grand-children; Deaf grandpa using Skype ‘cause it’s easier to lip read) flings wide the door of sm possibilities, and gives new purpose to video IP from my mortgage-paying business, The Health Television System Inc http://www.healthtvsystem.com (hospital-based patient ed tv-network )

    You-all did exactly what my one word twitter benefit said: Validate.
    How sweet it was to be met by you (and when I get the sign-up sheet, I’ll shout-out).

    Thanks Colleen. Thanks to you all. Kathy

    Like

    • February 27, 2011 9:31 pm

      Wow Kathy. Thanks for sharing how much the evening meant to you personally. I have to admit that I also found it a challenge to sum up “me” in a tidy sentence. I’ll have to work on that.

      I found it particularly interesting to see the wide range of responses we got for the “what does #hcsmca mean for you?” exercise — extremely useful feedback.

      Here too is the list of Twitter names for the Toronto attendees (at least those who signed in). Please add your name if we missed you:
      @Jay_Armitage
      @nocx
      @bornk
      @HealthyDebate
      @d_bourne
      @PharmaEngage
      @rdjfraser
      @thepathtochange
      @hovanes2
      @kathykastner
      @jendlake
      @madpsych
      @LynZee
      @robscoms
      @MountSinai
      @wavestran
      @TCMPilgrim
      @Mdparisienne
      @faisal_q
      @MarkRaganCEO
      @neoncab
      @emy_r
      @desouzanurse
      @Somss
      @UHN_News
      @teamquentin
      @CreativeFusion
      @aureliacotta
      @jacyhuynh
      @RebeccaSkins
      @CancerCare_ON
      @colleen_young

      I hope the other venues will also post their attendee list.

      Like

  3. February 27, 2011 10:45 pm

    @alissasadler made this list of Vancouver attendees http://bit.ly/iaAeym to start the Vancouver chapter of #hcsmca.

    Like

  4. February 27, 2011 11:24 pm

    Congratulations on such a successful tweet-up. I look forward to reading the follow-up reports from the individual meetings. Hopefully next time will work with my (and my kids’ … LOL) schedule.

    Like

Leave a Reply

