Skip to content

Welcome to my blog

September 7, 2010

I finally did it. I started my own blog.

While a number of things precipitated this move, the main motivation was my love of crowd-sourcing ideas and information, and then disseminating what I discover. After blogging for the past few years on SharingStrength | FortesEnsemble, I have come to understand the power of crowd-sourcing and the value of community sharing.

I aspire to add value to the conversations on health care and participatory medicine, and on the role plain language and community management play in helping to improve the health care experience.

I hope you’ll join me and add comments to the articles that strike a chord and resonate with you.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 1:45 pm

    Congratulations Colleen on this new ad(venture). I’m sure it will be very successful. And you’ve got the geographic advantage of being plugged in to a bilingual country that has a lot to say about health care and in which we’re very interested. About crowdsourcing, here’s one I heard this week, try counting marbles in a jar : the closest answer will be the average of the guesses of all the people in the room. All the best. Denise

    Like

  2. Robin Carpenter permalink
    September 7, 2010 5:46 pm

    Congratulations – We are doing some primary research in the US about PHR usage by patients with chronic conditions – and their caregivers. We are seeking to understand if you might share any Canadian resources on this subject?

    Like

    • September 7, 2010 7:29 pm

      Hi Robin,
      I’d be interested in hearing more about your research. I may be able to direct you to people who have Canadian data or resources about PHR usage by patients with chronic conditions.

      Thanks for dropping by my website.
      Colleen

      Like

  3. September 7, 2010 6:30 pm

    Colleen,

    Congratulations! It’s a joy and privilege to work with you. Already I’ve learned so much from you and am looking forward to many terrific exchanges.

    All good things!
    Jody

    Like

    • September 7, 2010 7:33 pm

      Thanks for the warm welcome Jody. The learning is a mutual exchange. I hope I can keep up with the standards that you and Kelly (RAWarrior) have established.
      Colleen

      Like

  4. September 7, 2010 7:05 pm

    Dear Colleen,
    I’m so glad for you! And I look forward to hearing more of your voice here.

    Like

    • September 7, 2010 7:41 pm

      Hi Kelly,
      Thanks for dropping by. As I mentioned in my reply above to Jody, blogs like yours set the benchmark high. I have great mentors guiding me :)
      Colleen

      Like

  5. September 7, 2010 7:28 pm

    Good for you and good for us. Always room for another blog, especially one focused on plain language! Can’t get enough of that in healthcare.

    Like

  6. September 7, 2010 8:12 pm

    Thanks Meredith.
    One always wonders if there’s more room. I’ve got some articles on plain language in the hopper. I’ll be sure to let you know when they are published.
    Colleen

    Like

  7. September 7, 2010 9:00 pm

    Too totally cool. Way to go. So glad to get to hear more from you.

    You’ve already done me a great service (not even talking about your input and plain language-ing and RT guidelines).

    I’ve been hoping for an opportunity to articulate my angst about tweet chats. I’m heading to your August 24 pos (Heath related twitter tweet chats), where you ask: have you ever participated in a tweet chat, if not, why not.

    Thanks Colleen!
    Kathy

    Like

    • September 7, 2010 10:03 pm

      Thanks for your support Kathy. I really appreciate it. My first plain language post as you know got its inspiration from our conversations.
      Colleen

      Like

  8. September 8, 2010 12:48 am

    ‘Patient empowerment, plain language, community management and health care’.

    What’s not to love? :)

    Congratulations on the launch of your new blog, Colleen. Everything you write is worth reading, and it’s great you’ve got your ‘own home’ now. Have fun furnishing it.

    @andrewspong

    Like

    • September 8, 2010 8:29 am

      Thanks for taking a peek Andrew. I’m sure you feel “at home” with the structure of my site since I largely modelled after yours http://stwem.com/, especially the #hcsmca page.

      I will be adding more furnishings, but will avoid adding clutter. I have dusting!

      Colleen
      PS: Also thank you for reminding me to add an RSS feed.

      Like

  9. Joanna Ptolomey permalink
    September 8, 2010 6:41 am

    Hi Colleen

    I love the fact that we share and *really care* about common themes in our work. Understanding the role of language and literacy and appropriate delivery methods of healthcare information and communication.

    I appreciated your time and discussions to encourage me to dig deeper into my own questions around healthcare and patient empowerment. Time and energy are a precious commodity – thanks for yours.

    Well done on the blog! I will be stopping by alot.

    Joanna

    Like

    • September 8, 2010 8:37 am

      Hi Joanna,

      I really appreciate your support and am glad that you took the time to check out my blog.

      I continue to mull over our discussions about language, literacy and getting the right health information to the people who need and want it. Umm, perhaps there is a collaborative series of blog posts in the making…

      Colleen

      Like

  10. September 8, 2010 12:00 pm

    conratulations, dear colleen! looking very much forward ..
    since my blog is mainly written in german i just linked to my homepage here..
    will be stopping by a lot
    kindest regards from germany
    @DocSarah / @HealingConcepts

    Like

    • September 8, 2010 12:05 pm

      Vielen dank Sarah. Ich bin so froh dass Du vorbei gekommen bist.

      I look forward to more sharing with you.
      Colleen

      Like

  11. September 8, 2010 2:28 pm

    Bonjour Colleen

    Je pourrais utiliser Google Traduction pour écrire en Anglais mais tant pis, je reste dans ma langue natal, le français, pour souhaiter :
    “longue vie” et pleins de visiteurs pour ton nouveau blog.

    Cependant, si je veux participer à fond à tes futurs articles, je serai peut-être obligée de faire appel à l’ami… Google.

    A bientôt de te lire

    Like

    • September 8, 2010 10:11 pm

      Non, non Françoise, les commentaires en français sont toujours bienvenue. Merci pour me lire et m’écrire. J’apprécie beaucoup ton constant appuie.
      Colleen

      Like

  12. September 13, 2010 7:27 am

    Good luck with the new blog, Colleen. I’ll be stopping by to check it out :)

    Like

    • September 13, 2010 11:02 am

      Hi Leah,
      Thanks for dropping by. I’ve been referring to the BCC’s website a lot lately for examples of good moderation practices and effective community management.
      Talk to you soon.
      Colleen

      Like

Leave a Reply

